DUI News

Address:        

Enterprise Mill, 1450 Greene Street, Suite 535

Phone:

706-724-1896

Email:

tsaullaw@att.net

DUI Penalties

DUI Drunk Driving Penalties

FIRST DUI CONVICTION IN TEN YEARS:

  • Twelve months probation.
  • Minimum ten days in jail. All but 24 hours may be suspended.
  • Minimum $300.00 fine plus surcharges. Maximum $1,000.00 fine plus surcharges.
  • Minimum 40 hours community service.
  • Risk Reduction Program.
  • License suspension for 12 months but may reinstate after 4 months. Limited driving permit usually granted during the 4-month suspension.
  • A clinical evaluation for alcohol and drug dependency generally required.
  • Random alcohol and drug screens generally required.
  • Do not consume alcohol or illegal drugs while on probation generally required.
  • Driver’s license reinstatement fees.
  • Monthly probation fees.

SECOND DUI CONVICTION IN TEN YEARS:

  • Twelve months probation.
  • Minimum 90 days in jail. All but 72 hours may be suspended.
  • Minimum $600.00 fine plus surcharges. Maximum $1,000.00 fine plus surcharges.
  • Minimum 240 hours community service.
  • Risk Reduction Program.
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation and treatment if recommended.
  • License suspension for 18 months. No permit for the first 12 months. After 12 months may receive a limited driving permit with ignition interlock device.
  • Ignition interlock device on all cars you own or operate for 6 months following the initial twelve month period.
  • Photograph published in local newspaper.
  • Surrender license plates of any vehicle you own for twelve months.
  • Monthly probation fees.

THIRD DUI CONVICTION IN TEN YEARS:

  • Twelve months probation.
  • Minimum 120 days in jail. All but 15 days may be suspended.
  • Minimum fine $1,000.00 plus surcharges. Maximum fine $5,000.00 plus surcharges.
  • Minimum 240 hours community service.
  • Risk Reduction Program.
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation and treatment if recommended.
  • License revoked for 5 years. No permit available. A probationary license may be obtained after two years.
  • Ignition interlock on all cars you own or operate for 6 months following the initial two year revocation.
  • Photograph published in local newspaper.
  • Surrender license plates of any vehicle you own for two years.
  • Declared a habitual violator.
  • Probationary license fee.
  • Driver’s license reinstatement fee.
  • Monthly probation fees.

UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE DUI:

  • Twelve months probation.
  • Minimum ten days in jail. All but 24 hours may be suspended.
  • Minimum $300.00 fine plus surcharges. Maximum $1,000.00 fine plus surcharges.
  • Minimum 40 hours community service.
  • Risk Reduction Program.
  • A clinical evaluation for alcohol and drug dependency generally required.
  • Driver’s license suspension. No work permit available. If BAC was greater than .08 then 12 month suspension. If BAC was less than .08 then 6 month suspension.
  • Driver’s license reinstatement fees.
  • Monthly probation fees.

The DUI penalties stated above are what most courts will impose upon a person pleading guilty to a DUI charge. Many of the DUI penalties listed are mandatory. Some of it is not mandatory, but it provides an accurate description of the DUI penalties and consequences imposed by courts throughout Georgia. A person pleading guilty to DUI in Georgia is sentenced at the court’s discretion, and the court may impose additional DUI penalties upon a defendant. Also, bear in mind that a person pleading guilty to DUI may face harsh penalties from their insurance company and risk losing their job or future employment. Many countries, such as Canada, are making it difficult to enter their country if a person is convicted of DUI.

Contact DUI lawyer, Travis Saul, at 706-724-1896 for a free consultation.